A Journey into the Teaching Experience

A site maintained by teachers for teachers

The Great Teacher Inspires

student

Recently, I’ve been finding it hard to work. Every time I have some work to do I end-up leaving it for later, and say “Ohh, I still have a lot of time. I’ll do it tomorrow.” But tomorrow comes and even more work is added to the pile. I don’t know how many times I was on the edge of giving up. However, if I give up now when I’m just starting to learn teaching it would be a pity. It’s even worse than at least trying and failing.

Probably, my problem is that I want everything to be perfect from the very beginning. Which, let’s say the truth, it’s impossible. There can be nothing in the world that is perfect. Although, for some reason this is what my mind wants from me. So, I decided that from now I’ll just do this and that without getting fixated on the possibility of failing. After all, failing wouldn’t be the end of the world but I can learn from it. And this is the attitude that we want our students to have. To try something and learn from their mistakes.

After confiding this with you, I’d like to add something else. Last week, I met one of my secondary teachers. He was my Computer Studies teacher during Form 4 and 5. He inspired me so much at that time that I ended up going for Computing in sixth form as well as university. Now, I realise how much the following quote stands:

“The mediocre teacher tells.

The good teacher explains.

The superior teacher demonstrates.

The great teacher inspires.”

                                                                                                                     – William Arthur Ward

That teacher had really inspired me. Probably it was the passion for his job, or the way he made me learn. What I know for sure is that every teacher needs to try their best to inspire students by showing passion, dedication and never giving up on himself/herself or giving up on the students. In my opinion, teachers have to especially keep trying and stick up to a problem as much as it takes because they have to encourage their students to do the same. To not give up whenever they face a challenge or something that they don’t understand. With this skill at hand students would be better armed to face their future problems.

2 comments on “The Great Teacher Inspires

  1. bernice1994
    November 28, 2013

    I have always said that according to the teacher, students will either love or hate the subject. This used to happen to me in the past years when I was still in secondary school.I used to hate English literature because of the monotonous way the teacher used to do the lesson. We used to just read one of Shakespeare’s books and stop whenever she felt the necessity to explain. We have to engage the students in our lesson, invent some different activities than usual and try different methodologies.

    I have decided to become a teacher of computer because I had also a teacher that he inspired me. I remember that in the beginning of each year, students were all hoping that they’ll be in his class. He used to inspire me by how disciplined he was but at the same time he included humor in class. He always encouraged us for the future, which helped some of us to not give up.

    I think that a teacher, is one of the most persons that could influence a child. By dedication and passion, a teacher could be a real inspiration to students.

  2. sarah1294
    December 4, 2013

    The same thing happened to me. Every teacher should be a role model and inspiration to his/her students! Every one of us will be leaving a huge impact on each and every student and we should thrive to leave a positive one.

    This will surely require love, dedication, time and also experience. However, one should not give up and be satisfied with the very least you can do. On the other hand, we should aim high and be confident and committed to our profession, which although some may see it as easy, in reality it is not. We should be responsible, determined, have good leadership skills and be able to build healthy relationships with the students.

    Below is a TED talk by Bill Gates on this topic. It is divided in 2 parts and I really suggest that you take a look at it.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 26, 2013 by in challenges, reflection.
Bryan Alexander

Futurist, educator, speaker, writer

Flagro

Christopher Felix Bezzina

Disrupting Education

Higher Education in the Digital Age

TED Blog

The TED Blog shares interesting news about TED, TED Talks video, the TED Prize and more.

Not Banjaxed...Yet

give it time

MOERG: Play, Games and Context for Learning

Research and practice in the use of play and games for adult learning

Individual Empowerment

Adventures in Inner Growth With Book Reviews

PAXsims

Conflict simulation, peacebuilding, and development

